Osun State Has Highest Number Of Governorship Aspirants

Osun State has set a new national record in Nigeria’ political history.

The state has the highest number of candidates to contest for any governorship election in the country

The governorship election in the state is scheduled to hold on September 22, 2018.

A total of 48 candidates from different political parties are aspiring to succeed Governor Rauf Aregbesola whose tenure would end on November 26, 2018.

Anambra state had the record of 37 contestants, followed by Ekiti which had 35 governorship candidates.

Out of the Osun 48 gubernatorial candidates, only five of them are popular by names and political parties.

They are: Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Moshood Adeoti of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), Senator Iyiola Omisore of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Senator Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Fatai Akinbade of the African Democratic Congress (ADC).

This is the first time Osun would be parading such high number of governorship contestants in the history of the state.

Only 17 candidates contested the August 14, 2014 governorship election which was won by Aregbesola to secure his second term, why less than 10 candidates participated in the April 14, 2007 gubernatorial election in the state.

Within the APC, over 27 members of the party aspired to be governor while just 17 aspirants were able to pay for nomination form to participate in the primary election of the party.

Oyetola emerged as the APC flag-bearer of the APC on July 20 after winning the direct primary election of the party.

Adeleke won the governorship ticket of the PDP with seven votes to defeat his major opponent, Dr Akin Ogunbiyi on July 21, while Adeoti was affirmed the candidate of ADP through affirmation on July 22.

Omisore beat two other contestants to win the governorship ticket with 125,485 votes in the primary election conducted by Dr. Bayo Faforiji-led faction of the party.

ADC had earlier fielded former Secretary to the State Government, Alhaji Kazeem Adio and later replaced him with Akinbade, a former SSG as well.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *