Ahmed Musa Battles Ronaldo, Others For Goal Of The Tournament

A total of 169 goals were scored at the just concluded Russia 2018 World Cup but 18 from that pool has been shortlisted for the Goal of the Tournament Award by FIFA.

Among the shortlisted 18 goals by FIFA is one scored by Nigeria’s Ahmed Musa against Iceland in the group stage of the Mundial.

Musa will be battling hard as goals from Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and the likes are also in the shortlist.

The voting for the Best Goal in Russia 2018 will be open until July 23 on FIFA’s official website.

Two goals scored by Russia midfielder Denis Cheryshev and one from his teammate striker Artem Dzyuba at the 2018 FIFA World Cup are among the contenders to win the Goal of the Tournament title.

The others are below:

Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal (third goal v Spain);

Nacho, Spain (v Portugal);

Philippe Coutinho, Brazil (v Switzerland);

Dries Mertens, Belgium (v Panama);

Juan Quintero, Colombia (v Japan);

Luka Modric, Croatia (v Argentina);

Ahmed Musa, Nigeria (second goal v Iceland);

Lionel Messi, Argentina (v Nigeria);

Toni Kroos, Germany (v Sweden);

Jesse Lingard, England (v Panama);

Ricardo Quaresma, Portugal (v Iran);

Adnan Januzaj, Belgium (v England);

Angel Di Maria, Argentina (v France);

Benjamin Pavard, France (v Argentina);

Nacer Chadli, Belgium (v Japan).

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *